Image of Open Antique Book on Wooden Table with Glitter Overlay

Heart Seasons

HEART SEASONS: A JOURNEY OF MIRACLES – Fiction Novel Inspired By Real Life Events

Heart Seasons Second Edition Cover




Available in Kindle eBook and Paperback.

Sign up to receive new recipes, tips and stories in your inbox!


5 Star Review

Reviewed by Christian Sia for Readers’ Favorite

Heart Seasons: A Journey of Miracles by Dianna Donnely is a spiritually rich, emotionally endearing, and psychologically affecting narrative that captures the beauty of one woman’s journey of faith into understanding the different seasons of her soul. In a moment of inspiration — revelation — the author felt a strong connection between the colors of the rainbow and her heart, and felt compelled to share the story of this “Journey of Miracles.” Starting with the meaning of each color of the rainbow, the author crafts an inspiring story of the Rainbow Revelation and explores themes of illness and suffering, love and surrender, family and friendship, and her spiritual connection with God. It’s interesting how this journey transforms her perception of life and how it makes her see God through every season of her life.

While this memoir reads like a spiritual autobiography, it is a symbolic journey that offers readers a very fresh perspective into thinking about their relationship with God. The rainbow is an image — colorful and soothing as it is — that symbolizes God’s enduring love for humanity, an image that recalls His compassion after the devastating flood, a symbol of His compassion. Dianna Donnely’s writing reflects the colors of the rainbow — joyous, colorful, and filled with light. You won’t be able to read this book and look at your life in the same way again. One of the greatest lessons I learned from Heart Seasons: A Journey of Miracles is that one thing alone is constant — God’s love. Every other emotion we feel is transitory, like the seasons. You’ll be inspired and entertained by this book, a rare gift of love and faith that you’ll want to pass on to others.



Finalist Seal


Have you ever felt like God was whispering to you? I have! One sunny spring day, I was sitting in my favorite comfy chair, writing in my journal. From out of the blue, I began experiencing a sensation I had never felt before. I felt a calming warmth in my heart and all of a sudden, I started writing down ideas on the blank pages in my notebook, one after the other, that just came to me. It was like a message from my heart that comes and goes to this day.

I was receiving inspiration to tell a story from my personal journals. The first thing I wrote down was its title, Heart Seasons. It would be a fictional story based on different seasons from my own real life. Each season of the novel would be defined by the colors of the rainbow. There would be seven seasons in the colors red, orange, yellow, green, blue, indigo and violet. The thought intuitively came to me that the seven bands of color perfectly symbolize my heart as it opens to God’s love and becomes whole. This event was truly an extraordinary “God Thing.”

Consumed with curiosity, I quickly picked up my laptop and began learning what each of the colors represents. To my surprise, the meaning of the colors correlated with the seasons I had visualized and written down only moments ago. I was instantly able to understand the connection between each color and the seasons of my heart.

On that amazing spring day, I embraced what I call “The Rainbow Revelation” as God’s plan for me to tell the story of my journey. I knew it would open with the deaths of two immediate family members and close with a renewed and blessed way of living in God’s love through experiencing His goodness and grace along the way.

The rainbow, a sign of God’s mercy and love, often appears after a storm. Many of us have weathered storms and the peace we can experience following the turmoil is a result of the miracles only God can perform.

The first season of this saga is red and is the highest arc of the rainbow. The color red is an emotionally intense color and indicates strength and perseverance. It epitomizes my family members and me entering into the most devastating storm of our lives.

Violet is the seventh position of the rainbow and in the meaning of colors, violet represents the future, our dreams and faith.

Before this glorious revelation, I simply admired rainbows, but now I see them as a smile from God that reassures me I’m traveling down the right path. Whenever I see a rainbow, it is a reminder of God’s faithfulness and that his love endures forever.

This is my story and it’s my privilege to share my “Journey of Miracles” with you!

Lily Marie Eastbrook Rhodes

“I have placed my rainbow in the clouds. It is the sign of my covenant with you and with all the earth. When I send clouds over the earth, the rainbow will appear in the clouds, and I will remember my covenant with you and with all living creatures. Never again will the floodwaters destroy all life. When I see the rainbow in the clouds, I will remember the eternal covenant between God and every living creature on earth.”

Genesis 9:13-16, NLT

“For everything there is a season, a time for every activity under heaven. . . .”
Ecclesiastes 3:1-8, NLT

Heart Seasons Second Edition

PERSONAL NOTE: For those of you who have been following me since the beginning, Heart Seasons is a rework and continuation of The Gray Season. After miraculously surviving a spontaneous medical crisis that involved brain trauma, I awoke with a new vision for my books. Heart Seasons: A Journey of Miracles is the new version of my spiritual, inspirational fictional novel based on real life events and is the beginning of that blessed vision.